Holidays, infections, and the Surf Beach in Winter

 

Taking time off is brilliant. Who doesn’t love a holiday?

My most recent trip away was a quiet week at Philip Island. It was bliss. I don’t know about you but I’ve become so use to taking time off for appointments or get things done, or touring new places, each day would be filled with getting up on time, sight seeing, crossing things off my list, catching up with people, and before you know it the holiday is over. Don’t get me wrong, those are always fantastic holidays, but once in a while it is nice to have time off without plans. No appointments, no schedule, just time to do what you feel like doing in the moment. The kind of break that allows you to lose track of time and just go with the flow.

Winter at the beach is stunning. Its always quiet because people don’t think of going to the beach in winter – big mistake; its awesome.

Aside from catching one nasty dose of sinusitis (starting as a virus and transforming into an infection, yay lucky me) I had an amazing break. I read 2 novels in 2 days just because I wanted to. I wrote, crocheted, made some greeting cards and brooches. There was no time limit, no schedule, no need to be anywhere at any specific time. We ate when we got hungry, went for long walks along the beach, drove to the shops and found some great little cafes. Even when I was stuck in bed for 2 days with the virus I would read and not feel that I should be feeling better.

That’s one of the worst things about being unwell, life still goes on, dishes need to be done, bills need to be paid, clothes need to be washed. Life doesn’t stop because you feel like crap. But when on holidays you’ve left everyday life behind. Even though I would have preferred not to get sick at all, it didn’t spoil the trip.

So here are a few snaps from my week away, proof that winter and the beach are a great mix.
20140529_153828

20140527_140705 20140527_140813 20140527_140821 20140528_122925 20140528_123016 20140528_123236 20140528_123327 20140529_141317 20140529_141332 20140529_153602Until next time, colour outside the lines, dream big, enjoying the little things, and above all else… embrace imperfection.

Kathryn

 

About Kathryn

Hello and welcome to the Brick Road Creative Studios blog! My name is Kathryn, feel free to take a look around. I hope you find some helpful and inspiring bits and pieces here.
This entry was posted in Bookshelf, Photo a day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

