Why I write

Vanessa from The Babbling Bandit shared a post recently titled “Why I write”. It’s a topic that has been moving around the blogosphere for a while and I’ve been enjoying catching up and reading other blogger’s posts on the subject. Vanessa was good enough to ask me to carry on the project with my very own “Why I Write” post, so without further ado!

Once Upon a TimeWhy do I write?

I’ve been through phases of loving reading and hating it (usually at school when you have to read set books). But no matter how I’ve felt about reading, I’ve always been writing. I started with a typical girlie diary, just recording my experiences, plenty of spelling errors included. I found it helpful to vent about my primary school dramas to a page that wouldn’t judge or criticise me for my complaints. From there I moved to writing short stories and poems – not particularly well I might add. I always loved creative writing at school but it wasn’t until I created my first blog on Xanga that I knew it was the writing style for me. I loved the idea of being able share my stories with other people from all over the world in short interesting posts. From Xanga I moved myself to Blogger to try out different add ons and functions, I started sharing book reviews, recipes, and my general opinion on different topics.

All of these blogs were fun and good for me to keep up with my writing, but they felt like ramblings more than anything. I would stop posting for weeks at a time and wondered why I bothered at all.

I’ve been writing here since 2013 when I bit the bullet and decided to focus my efforts on sharing information and tips with other busy women who want to stay organised, make memories worth sharing, spend more time doing the things they enjoy with the people they love, all while using their personal creativity and style every single day. I came to realise writing is important to me and that I want to be able to share what I know and learn from other people.

So you could say I write because I feel the need to. I write a blog because I want my information to be ‘out there’ for everyone to access should they feel the need.

What am I working on?

There are a number of projects I have in the works at the moment:

1) I have been working with Belinda of Ladybug to redesign my blog’s ‘look’ as well as moving it over to a new host. Very exciting times!

2) Writing a 52 week e-course for lovers of scrapbooking. This launches on the 1st of September this year, almost done!

3) I’m a member of the Children of Gambia Services Australia inc. charity and we have a number of events coming up. I plan to blog more about what’s coming and sharing things as they come up.

4) Developing a personal portfolio. This is my newest project and at this stage its on hold to allow me more time for my other projects, but it should be getting well under-way by late September so watch this space!

So, busy busy!

How does my writing differ from others in my genre?

My writing style is narrative. Forget the formalities and jargon. For this reason I usually place my blog in the ‘lifestyle’ category if asked to choose. It’s a really a mix of Personal, Business, and DIY in my opinion. I like to keep things interesting so I post on a number of topics such as book reviews, money-saving tips, keeping your home tidy and organised, where to go for your next holiday. I’ll also post on my experiences and information I have come across, anything that I feel would help busy women live the life they want to live.

Why do I write what I do?

Brick Road Creative Studios started as a lonely online store where I sold my handmade arts and crafts. I soon realised that my love of writing could work with my little store to share more information to benefit my customers.

I know a bit about a number of topics. Everything I write celebrates doing-it-yourself, always learning, failed attempts, dreaming big, enjoying the little things, and above all else… embracing imperfection. Creativity is messy, and we’re very creative.

How does my writing process work?

I get inspiration from everywhere. What I’m reading, listening to, seeing, doing. When I learn something new I want to share it with my readers.

I have a planner that I use to plan out my posts. Generally I plan posts for a week at a time, but if a new item comes up that I want to share I just move things around. There is also extra room in my planner for ideas that I have and want to develop.

I like to handwrite my ideas and outlines but then I head over to my blog to write directly into a post – saving as often as possible! *saves this post*.

When I’m working on a bigger project such as my Spring Cleaning Challenge or one of my e-courses, I like to pick up a new notebook so that I can handwrite my draft all in one place. I’ll often type it up as I go but there is something reassuring about having my notes in a notebook.

So that’s it! Now I’d like to invite the following bloggers to share their ‘Why I write’ story!!

Ladies please tell us:

Why do you write?
What are you working on?
How does your writing differ from others in your genre?
Why do you write what you do?
How does your writing process work?

 

imageClaire Chadwick is the editor & founder of Mum’s Closet. She is a Queensland (Australia) based mother to two young ones, as well as two older step-children. She created her blog to help other mums enjoy motherhood and have the confidence and know-how to do it in style. Mum’s Closet is a positive, relatable place to visit and gain real ideas & inspiration that will help you look and feel your best, even when in the deep trenches of motherhood.

unnamedLatrisha Jacobs is a beauty and lifestyle blogger at Beauty On My Brain.  She is currently working on her very first book entitled I Am Not My Makeup which is set to publish in August 2015. Latrisha’s mission is to use Beauty On My Brain as a place to provide women who want to get into makeup to learn the basics they need to know and find their own personal style. She’s about more than just having a pretty face as she believes that true beauty starts from the inside out. An avid believer that confidence is the best thing any woman can wear with pride and a witty attitude as the accessories, she’s always encouraging her community and readers to use their makeup to enhance their beauty and not to make them beautiful. Latrisha is married with two of the coolest children ever and currently calls Augusta, Ga home.

milli1Millicent Nankivell blogs about fangirling, what it’s like to be a crazy fangirl who blogs, but mostly she just swoons about Adrian Ivashkov. When she isn’t doing these things, she’s probably listening to music way too loudly while either reading, writing her own novels, or creating art. 100% of the time she is swooning.  Millicent Nankivell Designing Positive Creativity

Good luck ladies!

About Kathryn

Hello and welcome to the Brick Road Creative Studios blog! My name is Kathryn, feel free to take a look around. I hope you find some helpful and inspiring bits and pieces here.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, FAQ, Giggles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I write

  1. Pingback: Why I Write

Leave a Reply

