Look good, feel great, enjoying delicious foods

As you might have guessed from some of my previous posts such as this one, this one, and this one, I love finding new recipes that are nutritious AND tasty! I also like to share some family recipes (such as my mum’s cup cakes), that are a little less on the nutritious side ūüėČ Everything in moderation right!?

ItsAllGoodGood nutrition is very important to me. It’s probably just my ‘moderating’ that needs work. Which brings me to It’s all good by Gwyneth Paltrow and Julia Turshen. I had flicked through this book a few times in stores and liked some of the ideas therein, but it wasn’t until a friend recommended that I get it that I finally ordered myself a copy.

It’s All Good: Delicious, Easy Recipes That Will Make You Look Good and Feel Great

One of the reasons this book came to be was that in 2011 Paltrow suffered a migraine-and-panic-attack health crisis. Her doctor recommended she try an elimination diet (“no coffee, no alcohol, no dairy, no eggs, no sugar, no shellfish, no deepwater fish, no potatoes, no tomatoes, no bell pepper, no eggplant, no corn, no wheat, no meat, no soy, nothing processed at all”) to improve her health. How long should she follow this diet? she asked. Well, forever, according to her physician.

Ouch!

That is a lot of no- nos. The only way it would work out would be if the food tasted good. So Paltrow ‚ÄĒ in concert with co-author Turshen,¬†developed these “super-healthy comfort food” recipes.

The pictures in this book are beautiful, if nothing else I have enjoyed looking over the glossy pages and learning about¬†Gwyneth’s everyday life and the changes she has had to face for the sake of her health. Even movies stars have these problems! But this book is so much more then that if you’re looking to try some changes that will make you feel super healthy.

So far I have tried the meatballs (which are actually made from turkey and greens),¬†“The Best Green Juice” which is like a super healthy ‘green’ shake, and the pancakes. I’ve also incorporated a number of other habits into my everyday diet that they recommend such as including more whole foods – the closer it is to its natural state the better – and fish. I like fish but never really made an effort to have it regularly.

The recipes in this book range from super easy (avocado toast), to more unique creations (such as¬†Black Rice with Fresh Coconut). There are a number of Vegan recipes too! All in all I’m really glad I have this book in my collection.

Happy book week!

About Kathryn

Hello and welcome to the Brick Road Creative Studios blog! My name is Kathryn, feel free to take a look around. I hope you find some helpful and inspiring bits and pieces here.
This entry was posted in Bookshelf, Fresh Food & Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

