Have you heard “Secrets”?

Friday morning I lay in bed listening to my radio alarm avoiding the day in general. I had stayed up way too late reading so I was tired, I knew I had a lot of things to get done and I wasn’t looking forward to my day. Have you ever hit that kind of slump when you start wishing things were different or that you were somewhere else doing something else with your life? What can I say it was some deep thinking generated by my need for procrastination.

Then a song came on the radio. The lyrics were so honest and it was like someone was telling me ‘this is how it is, you can stay in bed and wish things were different, or you can get up, admit who you really are and take action’. It seemed to zap me out of my funk and I really started feeling better about my day. The song was Secrets by Mary Lambert, click here to watch the music video and hear this fab new release.

mary_14_AI’ve been reading up on Mary and it turns out she is totally awesome. Here is a slice of her Bio:

Mary Lambert had just quit her third job as a barista when her whole life changed. An aspiring singer-songwriter who also worked as a brunch waitress and bartender, she got a call from her friend Hollis Wong-Wear, who had sung and written on Macklemore & Ryan Lewis’ “White Walls.” Wong-Wear had recommended her to the duo, who were struggling to write a chorus for their new song, a marriage-equality anthem called “Same Love.” “Hollis said, ‘Ryan’s going to send you the track. You have three hours,’” Lambert recalls. “I got off the phone and ran across the street to the bar where I worked and told my boss everything. We did a shot, then I sabered a bottle of champagne with a sword. Then I was like, ‘Okay, I’ve gotta fucking write this thing.’ Priorities.” Click here to read more of Lambert’s Bio.

Throughout this song Lambert encourages girls to not bottle up their secrets. By revealing some of her own secrets, like the fact the she has bipolar disorder and her family is “dysfunctional,” Lambert wants to show others that it’s ok to be open about the things that are less-than-perfect in their own lives. We are who we are 🙂

About Kathryn

Hello and welcome to the Brick Road Creative Studios blog! My name is Kathryn, feel free to take a look around. I hope you find some helpful and inspiring bits and pieces here.
This entry was posted in What would you do if.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

