No time to read? Check out this weeks review of ‘Sleeping with the Fishes’ by MaryJanice Davidson

3126381MaryJanice Davidson is most well-known for her series of fashionista vampire romances novels (The Undead books). Having been bombarded with vampire books since the Twilight series I have done my best to avoid more. It just feels like you read the same story over and over with new names and places.

I chose to give this book a go because the main character is a mermaid. What can I say I just enjoy mythical creatures, and they aren’t vampires! The book was also smallish so I figured it wasn’t a huge commitment if I didn’t enjoy it. As it turns out I loved it, I even raced out to buy the next two books and read them.

In summary, Fred (our leading lady) is not your ordinary mermaid. She’s not blonde. She’s not buxom. And she’s definitely not perky. In fact, Fred can be downright cranky. And it doesn’t help matters that her hair is blue. While volunteering at the New England Aquarium, Fred learns that there are weird levels of toxins in the local seawater. A gorgeous marine biologist wants her help investigating. So does the High Prince of the Black Sea.

I found the story to be very amusing and fast paced. I didn’t feel that I was ever waiting for things to happen. Fred, who uses a lot of sarcasm, is a very entertaining heroine. I enjoyed how grown up this book was considering the leading lady was a mermaid. I’d classify it as a Romantic Comedy with plenty of steam and adventure.

About Kathryn

Hello and welcome to the Brick Road Creative Studios blog! My name is Kathryn, feel free to take a look around. I hope you find some helpful and inspiring bits and pieces here.
This entry was posted in Bookshelf. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

