No time to read? Check out this weeks review of ‘Not That Kind of Girl’ by Lena Dunham

not_that_kind_of_girl_by_lena_dunham_WEBThere has been a lot of hype around this book, only after watching these clips by Lena did I decide I had to read the book. I loved it. I read it in a little over a day, in a fever, wholly sucked in.

I found this book to be intelligent, insightful, sincere, and honest (lets just say she isn’t afraid to share EVERYTHING).

I enjoyed the stories she told of her past and how each stage she went through has taught her more, and helped her become the women she is today.

I have never been hugely into biographies as my experience with them has always been on the dull side. Having picked up Tina Fey’s Bossypants a while back I discovered not all biographies needed to be like that.

My favourite stories are always the ones where you learn about people, their experiences, you learn from the story and you get a laugh along the way.

I think what I admire the most about Dunham is she takes what women are taught to keep secret and places it directly in the spotlight, demanding that we talk about it, and even laugh about it, because honestly what are we so afraid of?

To directly quote Dunham: ‘There is nothing gutsier to me than a person announcing that their story is one that deserves to be told, especially if that person is a woman.’ Well, I think Dunham’s about as gutsy as they get.

Stories are meant to make us feel less alone and help us relate to one another. Lena Dunham understands that. In every essay of this book, it’s like she’s shouting, “Here is my life, all of it. Have you ever felt this way?”. I enjoyed her book and will be hanging on to my copy.

About Kathryn

Hello and welcome to the Brick Road Creative Studios blog! My name is Kathryn, feel free to take a look around. I hope you find some helpful and inspiring bits and pieces here.
This entry was posted in Bookshelf, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

