Take the money and run – A Thrifty 15 update

purse with moneyI’m 5 months into the Thrifty 15 challenge, time really flies! It feels like only last week I was heading into November with my Christmas plan of attack. Since then I have managed to save a total of $968.23 outside of my regular automatic savings. That is a lot of money I would usually just spend!

It really makes me wonder what I had been spending this sort of money on! I have my car registration and insurance due within a week of each other and this year I’m on top of it having put the money aside each week. Its times like these that you feel like an accomplished adult.

Speaking of being all grown up, I did manage to squeeze in some different money savers over the last 5 months. Here are some of the crazy (but legal) things I’ve done to save money.

  • Almost out of date veggies. When supermarkets have too much stock that is coming up to its use by date they discount it dramatically. I’ve bought beans, carrots, lettuces all at less then half price. I only ever get these items if I know I am going to use them that night. You usually have a couple of days but don’t get them for the sake of it because they are discounted, they will just end up going off and then you have wasted your money.
  • I got my hair coloured but didn’t have a trim. Red hair is a high maintenance colour, but I don’t have to have it cut every time its coloured!
  • Carpooling – admittedly I’ve only been doing this because my car is in the shop BUT it is a money saver non the less.
  • I’ve used a dry cake mix to make a cake that was past its best before date. It was delicious and no one got sick! It wasn’t a gamble, here are some helpful facts about expiration dates in case you’re interested.
  • Grouping similar items. When tidying up I’ve been putting similar items together so that I know what I have and what I don’t need to buy. Things like packets of tissues, sunscreen, moisturiser, and hair clips.
  • Delete credit card details. This is one I put in place a while ago but I don’t think I’ve mentioned it here before. I removed my credit card from my itunes and I’ve saved about $20 a month if not more. When the cash doesn’t leave your hand its easy to just buy a song you hear and like.
  • Pandora! This is a free music streaming app and website that allows you to listen to a genre of music with minimal ads. So much better then listening to radio during the day with all those ads.
  • Choose water. If you’re out and you want a drink to go with dinner, choose water and save yourself some money. Having one soft drink/wine with your meal might not seem so bad, but when you have one at every meal over a year really adds up (example: 3.50 for a soft drink for 3 meals a week is $546 in 12 months! Beer or Wine would be twice that).
  • De-junk your trunk. As part of handing my car over for its fix up I had to clean it out. I know that you use more petrol when you carry more stuff in you’re car, I just didn’t realise how much I had accumulated! Make sure to check what you are driving around with to help reduce what you spend on petrol.

Phew its been a busy couple of months! Are there things you have been doing to stop yourself spending unnecessarily?

About Kathryn

Hello and welcome to the Brick Road Creative Studios blog! My name is Kathryn, feel free to take a look around. I hope you find some helpful and inspiring bits and pieces here.
This entry was posted in Savvy Saver, Thrifty 15. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

