Time for a Creative Outlet

I’ve been so wrapped up in deadlines and keeping up with urgent things that I had completely forgotten how amazingly fun and relaxing it is to lose yourself in creativity. Relaxing and reading a good book has become my go-to hobby lately (which is never a bad thing!). It wasn’t until I started reading a novel by Rachael Herron that I felt like getting my last crocheting project out. In the novel the leading lady is a knitter who spins her own yarn and creates her own patterns. I’m not even close to being that obsessed with knitting, I’ll even use acrylic wool (“Heavens no!” Cry yarn snobs everywhere) as its hard-wearing, easy to clean, and much more affordable.

I’ve been working on my old project most evenings for 2 weeks now and it’s almost finished. Working on something like this really focuses my attention and I find myself lost in the work without any other thoughts in my mind. It is the best feeling, I think this is what meditation must feel like to others.

Below are a number of hobbies and projects that you might like to try. I hope you can try one out or that they inspire you to pick up and old hobby you’ve forgotten about.

Terrariums

Aren’t these cool! For a detailed ‘How-to’ head over to www.mycleanslateblog.com where Brittany has done an amazing job of putting some of these together.

Crochet

I learnt knitting at a young age, it wasn’t until I was older and discovered crocheting that I really got stuck into making things with wool. I love how finished crocheting feels compared to knitting. If you’ve never tried it I’ve found this fantastic blog with some step by step videos for beginners. Click here to get stuck into some crocheting!

Scrapbooking

You can combine your old photos with colourful paper to create some treasured family albums – cut and paste at its best! Click here for a free e-course in scrapbooking, its awesome – I should know, I wrote it! hehe.

Grow something tasty

No matter the size of your garden or lack there of, you can grow something to eat. If you’ve never grown anything before, why not start with some herbs? Click here to learn all you need to know about growing herbs indoors. And you can click here to learn more about growing your own fruit and/or veg!

Puzzles

If you don’t consider yourself crafty there are plenty of other options such as puzzling. You can start out small and work your way up to bigger puzzles. Ideally you can swap your puzzles with other enthusiasts once you have completed them.

Baking

Cooking day-to-day can feel like a chore. But for some people getting into the kitchen and baking up a storm is very relaxing. If you’d like to try your hand at it I recommend starting with these cup cakes – always a crowd pleaser.

Collecting

I don’t encourage hording, but collecting is completely different! Click here to be inspired by some amazing collections; from buttons, to toy cars, to tea pots, to cat clocks!

About Kathryn

Hello and welcome to the Brick Road Creative Studios blog! My name is Kathryn, feel free to take a look around. I hope you find some helpful and inspiring bits and pieces here.
This entry was posted in Being Green, Oh that is handy!, Scrapbooking, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

