Alys you’ve done it again!

Some of you will have noticed that I ordered The Edible Garden by Alys Fowler. It arrived in late April and I have devoured the book at least twice.

I’m so inspired to grow my own salads this year and I’ve started work on some lettuce boxes and pots. The only thing holding me back is the weather. Bring on Spring!

I recently stumbled over an article/interview where Alys explains how her garden is going and how she got into it. She also has a little something to say about why she prefers to look stylish while she gardens, here is a snippet of the article:

I’d always kept the vintage dress for the evening and the gardening clothes for the gardening, but as I was cycling back home that day across London I thought, Well I’m going to be gardening for the rest of my life, so I’m either going to be this person who wears terrible clothes or not. I thought, To hell with that, I’ll not wear terrible clothes, because I just cannot have anybody look at me like that ever again. So I went home, took the rest of the money I’d made and went through every charity shop from Marylebone all the way back to Hackney. I thought, I’m never going to be seen in Goretex ever again. It became something people were intrigued by, that I didn’t wear gardening clothes. Frocks and gumboots–that’s become the thing that everyone expects of me, so when I wear jeans everyone gets upset.

Click here to read the article and interview of Alys Fowler her style of punk-rock-permaculture.

Enjoy!

Kathryn

About Kathryn

Hello and welcome to the Brick Road Creative Studios blog! My name is Kathryn, feel free to take a look around. I hope you find some helpful and inspiring bits and pieces here.
This entry was posted in Being Green, Fresh Food & Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Alys you’ve done it again!

  1. theforkofdreams says:

    Lovely Article about Alys, thank you for sharing! I actually saw her at the weekend! My mum and I were in Ludlow, Shropshire and she walked past us! We both just turned around in complete shock and said is that really Alys! Looking forward to reading more of your blog! 🙂

    • Kathryn says:

      My pleasure! Wow that’s so cool! I would have turned into a total fangirl jumping and flailing hehe. Thanks for following my blog! Thrilled to have you reading 🙂

      • theforkofdreams says:

        I was star struck but she breezed past so fast my mum and I were just left standing there mouths open – so attractive lol! My pleasure I look forward to reading it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

