June Reads – BRCS Book Club Review and Discussion

It has taken me weeks to figure out what I liked about the book. I’ve been making my way through it and wondering if I’m missing something.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t like it. I had heard so many good things and read glowing reviews. But when it came down to reading it for myself I had to force myself to read it every step of the way. I almost didn’t finish it but knew I needed to, just in case something helped pull it all together at the end and I realised I did like it.

The writing and story were very scattered, a bit like thoughts can be sometimes. Maybe that’s what she was going for. It seemed very self-involved to me, given it was coming from one person’s point of view that can be necessary to a point. However it seemed to change from time frames and scenes so often it was hard to get into the flow of it.

A quick summary for anyone that hasn’t read it:

Reeling from a failed marriage, Sheila, a twenty-something playwright, finds herself unsure of how to live and create.

When Margaux, a talented painter and free spirit, and Israel, a sexy and depraved artist, enter her life, Sheila hopes that through close—sometimes too close—observation of her new friend, her new lover, and herself, she might regain her footing in art and life.

Using transcribed conversations, real emails, plus heavy doses of fiction, the brilliant and always innovative Sheila Heti crafts a work that is part literary novel, part self-help manual, and part bawdy confessional.

I love reading about self discovery and learning from other people’s journey’s, but I don’t feel that this book taught me anything worthwhile. Maybe I was expecting too much, or just expecting something entirely different…

I’d love to hear your thoughts, what did you think about this one? Did I just miss the point? Leave a comment below 🙂

 

About Kathryn

Hello and welcome to the Brick Road Creative Studios blog! My name is Kathryn, feel free to take a look around. I hope you find some helpful and inspiring bits and pieces here.
This entry was posted in BRCS Book Club. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

