29 Things I’ve learnt this year

Another birthday has come around and it has me reflecting back on the previous year, all the accomplishments, mishaps, highs, and lows. It has been a big year that’s for sure. So today I wanted to share 29 things I’ve learnt over the last 12 months.

Let’s party!

briadesmaids-im-ready-to-party-gif

1. The best kind of party is usually unplanned.

2. You need to make time for adventure as often as possible. Adventures don’t come to you, you need to go looking for them.

3. Budgeting isn’t about writing the perfect plan and forgetting about it a week later. Its something you need to look at and pay attention to all the time. Spending a little bit of time on it each day will help you sleep better at night.

4. Making up a song about what you happen to be doing this very second is not only entertaining, but it will help you remember what you were doing if you get interrupted. I encourage you to try it.

5. I hate caramel slice. I know its loved by a lot of people, but its just not for me. Its taken me 29 years to finally admit I don’t like it – I guess I feel like I should like it. But I don’t.

6. Book Clubs rock. I’ve had so much fun being able to talk to my friends about what we’re reading this month. It is a great way to make sure you keep reading!

7. They were right. Anyone who ever said that exercise helps your mind and body work at optimum levels was right. Its not about being an athlete (unless thats your jam), its about looking after yourself.

8. I am not a morning person. This doesn’t mean I can’t get up early and function, I can. I just find it really really hard to do it with a happy disposition. To save me offending you and showing you my cantankerous self, please leave me alone until at least 8am when I am concious, coffeed, and ready to be happy optimistic self.

9. It’s worth spending money on a quality hand cream. Something with essential oils is ideal so you can keep your hands soft AND relax with a fantastic scent.

10. If it sounds bad, it usually is. Vegemite Chocolate, need I say more?

11.  I’ve learnt how to crochet a snowflake shape! Thanks mum!

12. Investing in a few quality basics for your wardrobe is something you will never regret. I found a few items I can wear a dozen different ways and they last and last.

13. As an addition to number 12, find your own style rather then flicking along with all the new trends. Your body and your personality will help you find exactly how you want to express yourself, trust your own style.

14. Always keep a few long-lasting snacks and drinks for spontaneous gatherings. It’s nice to be able to throw a few things together for an un-planned party, having a few things on hand (such as the items on this list)

15. Mosquitoes prefer my younger sister – I’ve made a habit of sitting near her when outside at night so I don’t get bitten hehe.

16. Having a camp fire when camping is essential.

17. There is no shame being completely obsessed with reading and collecting books. I just wish it wasn’t such a heavy and space consuming hobby.

18. I’m a do-er. I have lots of ideas for projects and I’m constantly starting something new.

19. Pomsky puppies are a thing, and they’re completely adorable!

20. I get way too excited about movies that are advertised 6 months before their release date. My enthusiasm is not usually contagious.

21. I have a new favourite colour, and its yellow.

22. Use less and minimize what you have. STUFF – We have so so much of it. The reality is that it slows you down. The less we have the more organised we can be.

23. Time management is dead, ‘attention management’ is in.

24. I love the kind of camaraderie that occurs when people with similar goals come together to work on something bigger then themselves. There is an energy that makes me feel like I can do anything.

25. Routines are helpful and important for making sure you get things done. But they are also less important then taking time out and just living in the moment.

26. If you’re not sure about something, ask questions. If you’re interested in knowing more about something, ask questions. People love to help and share what they know.

27.  It is really hard to find boots that fit me AND are my preferred style. When I find them I need to get 2.

28. Grief from losing a loved one is probably the most difficult emotion I have experienced. I’m working hard to focus on the memories and smile for them.

29. Do what you need to do to make your dreams a reality. I know this is something I’ve been learning and trying to do year after year. Just dreaming about things wont make them happen. Take action, do something today that your future self will thank you for.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
– Mark Twain

 

What a year! Now for cake!

 

yum_emma_stone

About Kathryn

Hello and welcome to the Brick Road Creative Studios blog! My name is Kathryn, feel free to take a look around. I hope you find some helpful and inspiring bits and pieces here.
This entry was posted in Celebrations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

